Our Team


Board of Directors

Chair ZNE-Ag CRC

Dr Deb Cousins

Former Board member, Western Australian Marine Science Institution, WA Biodiversity Research Institute, Premiers Science Council.


Tress Walmsley

CEO InterGrain, member of Grains Australia Barley and Oat Councils, Deputy Chair of Grains Industry Association WA, Director of Chemistry Centre WA


Tony Lee

 Member WA Aboriginal Cultural Centre Steering Committee, Member of WA Education Dept Aboriginal Advisory Committee


Dr Nick Austin

Chair of the Agriculture and Food Forum, President of the Policy Advisory Council on International Agricultural Research, Member of the Governing Board of the Bill and Melinda Gates Agricultural Innovations LLC


Chris Murphy

Chair of DairyNZ Science Panel, Herd Test Centre Commitee (HTCC), and the International Dairy Data Exchange Network (iDDEN)


Melinee Leather

Director of Leather Cattle Co, Member CQ Regional Forum, Member of the  Sustainability Steering Group


Megan McKechnie

Non-Executive Director and Chair of Finance & Audit Committee Disaster Relief Australia, former CFO University of New England and Non-Executive Director & Chair of Finance, Audit & Risk Vasey Housing Association 


Dr Kat Giles

Member of the Australian New Zealand College of Veterinary Scientists, Non Executive Director Rural Business Support, Non Executive Director Integrity Systems Company

Leadership Team


Richard Heath

Chief Operating Officer

Georgia Sheil

Chief Financial Officer

Riaan Retief

Producer Demonstration Site Lead

Michael Taylor

Head of Communications

Rachel Buchanan

Executive Assistant to CEO

Annie Cox

Research Director

Ben Hayes

Professor – The University of Queensland

Research Program 1 Leader

Vicki Lane

Director RD&E – Department of Primary Industries and Fisheries

Research Program 2 Leader

Phil Vercoe

Professor – The University of Western Australia

Research Program 3 Leader

Richard Eckard

Professor – The University of Melbourne

Research Program 4 Leader

Marit Kragt

Associate Professor – The University of Western Australia

Education, Training & Adoption
Program Leader

Janelle Wilkes

Associate Professor – The University of New England